Tuesday, August 23, 2011

New Zealand

New Zealand is a place that has many people of different cultures. New Zealand was named after the first Polynesians that came in their waka. They named it Aotearoa that translates into The Land of the Long White Cloud. They named it this because the first thing they saw was a large cloud covering New Zealand. The treaty of Waitangi was signed in February the 6th 1840. It was signed to bring peace between the Maori tribes and the British settlers who were fighting over the land. It was signed by Maori and the British and some Maori put there moko on the treaty instead of a signature. No other countries have the treaty of Waitangi.

We have four main islands. They are North Island, South Island, Stewart Island and Chatham Islands. Our main cities are Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. Wellington is our capital city that is well known of the Parliament and the beehive . Wellington is well known because the prime minister lives there .The main languages we speak are Te Reo Maori, English and New Zealand sign language. It is the third populous place in New Zealand

We want to see heaps of Rugby World Cup visitors to come and enjoy the rugby games in Auckland! Please Come visit us at Pt England School!

1 comment:

Jesiah said...

Hello Dillon, that was a good piece of informations about New Zealand. I like how you have drawn your picture, it has lots of detail. Looking forward to reading more of your posts.